top of page

My Plastic Journey

Prelude: I am keeping a journal of my encountering plastic during a move from one apartment to another.

4/23/2016-4/24/2016

7:45 p.m. I just got back from the dollar store, where 99% of the merchandise is plastic. I bought a plastic cup, bleach that came in a plastic bottle it was packaged in plastic bags as well as a plastic broom that came in a plastic dustpan and I'm about to reuse some of the plastic bags for my kitty litter garbage I'm not sure that's the best way but I feel like at least I am reusing it. The litterbox itself is completely plastic and I feel like the only alternative is letting the cats out in nature. However that is unethical for them because of the high risk of FIV in this state and other outdoor diseases. I felt a hint of guilt picking up the items which were made in China that I swallowed down quickly out of necessity. I had a sense of need for them, lack of money and time to get other ones. I could have went out of my way to bring my mason jars but they were too heavy and we still do not have anything to clean dishes with at the apartment I moved into. I could have bought a broom that was wooden, but I have never seen a wooden pan. I also know that bleach itself is a terrible chemical to use and causes respiratory problems, but I know it is also the best thing to use to clean and disinfect bathtubs quickly.

10:39 a.m. I went to the gym and realized my car is mainly plastic. The phone I was listening to music is plastic as well as my phone case and head phones. There is no alternative to this. I was drinking water from my reusable BPA free plastic cup that. The bag I am carrying is mainly plastic as well as what I'm using to carry some of my art supplies. My paints are in plastic my paint brushes are wrapped in plastic wrap for freshness. The crocks on my feet that I'm wearing our plastic as well as most of the soles in my shoes. (I realize this as I am packing and unpacking most of my things). I feel like I do not have to wear shoes made from plastic, but they are given to me as a gift. There are many alternative ways to drink water, such as mason jars and glass cups. The fact that my Prius is mainly plastic is a guilt I only know how to eliminate by finding a way to commute by foot. Grocery bags can be paper instead of plastic, however in the case that I am moving many items in a short amount of time, this would have been very difficult as the bag may rip.

11:10am As I am unpacking my room, I am finding my bins that I used to move my items are completely made out of plastic. I am not feeling guilty about this because it is sturdy and reusable and I plan on having this used for a long time. It also saved my back from the weight I would carry if the bins were wood or metal. However my bookshelf that I ordered on Amazon for $20 comes with plastic rods and plastic coated shelves in plastic bags. I mention price because I am on a very tight budget as this move nearly made me broke. The guilt that came with this was immense since the plastic packaging was unnecessary. I also am aware that the air they fill the big plastic bubble bags is toxic plastic gas and should not be popped. The other unfortunate fact that I encountered was my clothes, which I have a lot of, came with all plastic hangers. The hangers are flimsy and break easily, making them inefficient environmentally and economically. Wooden and metal hangers would be ideal environmentally but would take up space and cost extra.

2:53pm I went to Walmart, bought razors in plastic package mainly made out of plastic as well as deodorant and all products were bagged in plastic bags, 6 bags total. There were not any alternatives to razors besides plastic. I know they sell the metal ones but they are 5 times as much money as well as risky for my clumsy hands to use. I do feel guilt with this decision because the razors are meant to be disposed of, making me a wasteful human being. Once again all products were bagged in plastic. Paper was not an option at Walmart.

3pm At this time I went to Tijuana Flats fast food place. I never go out to fast food but it was an impulse. I paid with my plastic debit card and signed with plastic pen. We read off plastic coated menus and retrieved plastic cups for water with plastic straws. Food came out in plastic basket. Sauces had plastic Togo cups. I felt no guilt besides wasting money on fast food when paying with my debit card. The alternative would have been cash only and a limit on my spending. This would also have saved me from shopping anywhere and prevented me from spending so much money on plastic.

I encountered plastic in cycles again which I did not note for fear of redundancy (car, cups, bags, etc.). Overall, plastic is everywhere. As I type on this plastic keyboard and feel defeated, I am not giving up on giving up plastic. I know this is a nuisance to the environment and I am conscious enough to decrease the amount of plastic use to the best of my ability. This assignment made me feel aware and inflicted enough guilt for me to start with bringing my own bag to the store. One change at a time will make a difference in the world.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page